Angebote zu "Empire" (479 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Empire
18,71 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

From the bestselling author of The English comes Empire, Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr.The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings, the way we travel to the way we trade, the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away.In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire. As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was "to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable"') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves.'Paxman is witty, incisive, acerbic and opinionated . . . In short, he carries the whole thing off with panache bordering on effrontery' Piers Brendon, Sunday Times'Paxman is a magnificent historian, and Empire may be remembered as his finest work' Independent on SundayJeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for Panorama. He is the author of five books including The English. He is the presenter of Newsnight and University Challenge and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
English Colonization and Empire
23,60 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

English Colonization and Empire is an unchanged, high-quality reprint of the original edition of 1891.Hansebooks is editor of the literature on different topic areas such as research and science, travel and expeditions, cooking and nutrition, medicine, and other genres. As a publisher we focus on the preservation of historical literature. Many works of historical writers and scientists are available today as antiques only. Hansebooks newly publishes these books and contributes to the preservation of literature which has become rare and historical knowledge for the future.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
English Colonization and Empire
22,90 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

English Colonization and Empire is an unchanged, high-quality reprint of the original edition of 1891.Hansebooks is editor of the literature on different topic areas such as research and science, travel and expeditions, cooking and nutrition, medicine, and other genres. As a publisher we focus on the preservation of historical literature. Many works of historical writers and scientists are available today as antiques only. Hansebooks newly publishes these books and contributes to the preservation of literature which has become rare and historical knowledge for the future.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The English
11,08 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In The English Jeremy Paxman sets out to find about the English. Not the British overall, not the Scots, not the Irish or Welsh, but the English. Why do they seem so unsure of who they are?Jeremy Paxman is to many the embodiment of Englishness yet even he is sometimes forced to ask: who or what exactly are the English? And in setting about addressing this most vexing of questions, Paxman discovers answers to a few others. Like:Why do the English actually enjoy feeling persecuted?What is behind the English obsession with games?How did they acquire their odd attitudes to sex and to food?Where did they get their extraordinary capacity for hypocrisy?Covering history, attitudes to foreigners, sport, stereotypyes, language and much, much more, The English brims over with stories and anecdotes that provide a fascinating portrait of a nation and its people.'Intelligent, well-written, informative and funny...A book to chew on, dip into, quote from and exploit in arguments' Andrew Marr, Observer'Bursting with good things' Daily TelegraphJeremy Paxman is a journalist, best known for his work presenting Newsnight and University Challenge. His books include Empire, On Royalty, The English and The Political Animal. He lives in Oxfordshire.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
The English
11,08 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In The English Jeremy Paxman sets out to find about the English. Not the British overall, not the Scots, not the Irish or Welsh, but the English. Why do they seem so unsure of who they are?Jeremy Paxman is to many the embodiment of Englishness yet even he is sometimes forced to ask: who or what exactly are the English? And in setting about addressing this most vexing of questions, Paxman discovers answers to a few others. Like:Why do the English actually enjoy feeling persecuted?What is behind the English obsession with games?How did they acquire their odd attitudes to sex and to food?Where did they get their extraordinary capacity for hypocrisy?Covering history, attitudes to foreigners, sport, stereotypyes, language and much, much more, The English brims over with stories and anecdotes that provide a fascinating portrait of a nation and its people.'Intelligent, well-written, informative and funny...A book to chew on, dip into, quote from and exploit in arguments' Andrew Marr, Observer'Bursting with good things' Daily TelegraphJeremy Paxman is a journalist, best known for his work presenting Newsnight and University Challenge. His books include Empire, On Royalty, The English and The Political Animal. He lives in Oxfordshire.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
English Colonization and Empire
23,60 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

English Colonization and Empire is an unchanged, high-quality reprint of the original edition of 1891.Hansebooks is editor of the literature on different topic areas such as research and science, travel and expeditions, cooking and nutrition, medicine, and other genres.As a publisher we focus on the preservation of historical literature.Many works of historical writers and scientists are available today as antiques only. Hansebooks newly publishes these books and contributes to the preservation of literature which has become rare and historical knowledge for the future.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
English Colonization and Empire
22,90 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

English Colonization and Empire is an unchanged, high-quality reprint of the original edition of 1891.Hansebooks is editor of the literature on different topic areas such as research and science, travel and expeditions, cooking and nutrition, medicine, and other genres.As a publisher we focus on the preservation of historical literature.Many works of historical writers and scientists are available today as antiques only. Hansebooks newly publishes these books and contributes to the preservation of literature which has become rare and historical knowledge for the future.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
J. G. Ballard
35,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

High Quality Content by WIKIPEDIA articles! James Graham Ballard (15 November 1930 19 April 2009) was an English novelist and short story writer. He was a prominent member of the New Wave movement in science fiction, but his best-known books are the controversial Crash (1973), an exploration of automobile-accident sexual fetishism, and the autobiographical novel Empire of the Sun (1984). The latter was based on his boyhood in Shanghai, where he was born in the International Settlement, and on his internment by the Japanese Imperial Army during the Second World War. Both novels were adapted into films, by David Cronenberg and Steven Spielberg respectively.

Anbieter: Dodax AT
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot
J. G. Ballard
34,00 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

High Quality Content by WIKIPEDIA articles! James Graham Ballard (15 November 1930 19 April 2009) was an English novelist and short story writer. He was a prominent member of the New Wave movement in science fiction, but his best-known books are the controversial Crash (1973), an exploration of automobile-accident sexual fetishism, and the autobiographical novel Empire of the Sun (1984). The latter was based on his boyhood in Shanghai, where he was born in the International Settlement, and on his internment by the Japanese Imperial Army during the Second World War. Both novels were adapted into films, by David Cronenberg and Steven Spielberg respectively.

Anbieter: Dodax
Stand: 22.01.2020
Zum Angebot

Ähnliche Suchbegriffe