Angebote zu "Library" (745.045 Treffer)

The Library Book , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 251min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In The Library Book, 23 famous writers celebrate libraries and tell us why they are so important, using memoir, history, polemic and some short stories too. This recording contains: Foreword (Rebecca Gray), This Place Will Lend You Books For Free (James Brown), Character Building (Anita Anand), The Defence of the Book (Julian Barnes), The Punk and Langside Library (Hardeep Singh Kohli), The Rules (Lucy Mangan), Baffled at a Bookcase (Alan Bennett), The Future of the Library (Seth Godin), Going to the Dogs (Val McDermid), I Love Libraries (Lionel Shriver), Have You Heard of Oscar Wilde? (Stephen Fry), The Secret Life of Libraries (Bella Bathurst), The Booksteps (short story) (China Mieville), Alma Mater (Caitlin Moran), The Library of Babylon (Tom Holland), A Corner of St James´s (Susan Hill), It Takes a Library (Michael Brooks), The Magic Threshold (Bali Rai), Libraries Rock! (Ann Cleeves), The Five-Minute Rule (Julie Myerson), If You Tolerate This (Nicky Wire), Library Life (short story) (Zadie Smith), The Lending Library (short story) (Kate Mosse), Fight For Libraries As You Do Freedom (Karin Slaughter) and Afterword (Miranda McKearney). 1. Language: English. Narrator: Rebecca Gray. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/bbcw/005758/bk_bbcw_005758_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Library Book , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 729min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Susan Orlean, hailed as a ´´national treasure” by The Washington Post and the acclaimed best-selling author of Rin Tin Tin and The Orchid Thief, reopens the unsolved mystery of the most catastrophic library fire in American history and delivers a dazzling love letter to a beloved institution - our libraries. On the morning of April 29, 1986, a fire alarm sounded in the Los Angeles Public Library. As the moments passed, the patrons and staff who had cleared out of the building realized this was not the usual false alarm. As one fireman recounted later, ´´Once that first stack got going, it was good-bye, Charlie.” The fire was disastrous: It reached 2,000 degrees and burned for more than seven hours. By the time it was extinguished, it had consumed 400,000 books and damaged 700,000 more. Investigators descended on the scene, but more than 30 years later, the mystery remains: Did someone purposefully set fire to the library - and if so, who? Weaving her lifelong love of books and reading with the fascinating history of libraries and the sometimes eccentric characters who run them, award-winning journalist and New York Times best-selling author Susan Orlean presents a mesmerizing and uniquely compelling story as only she can. With her signature wit, insight, compassion, and talent for deep research, she investigates the legendary Los Angeles Public Library fire to showcase the larger, crucial role that libraries play in our lives. To truly understand what happens behind the stacks, Orlean visits the different departments of the LAPL, encountering an engaging cast of employees and patrons and experiencing alongside them the victories and struggles they face in today’s climate. She also delves into the evolution of libraries across the country and around the world, from a metropolitan charitable initiative to a cornerstone of 1. Language: English. Narrator: Susan Orlean. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/sans/008916/bk_sans_008916_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Don´t Judge a Witch by Her Coven: A Magical Lib...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

She´s on a mission for revenge. He´s trying to keep his family together. Can they put aside their differences to save magic and each other? Katrina Pine won´t let her sister´s killer get away. But when her investigation nearly gets her killed, she´s saved by the last person she expected: her target´s son, the handsome Patrick Kaufman. She´ll need to get up close and personal with Patrick to unravel the mysteries of her sister´s death, but can she protect her heart? Patrick has spent his life doing what he´s told. When Katrina uncovers evidence of his father´s crimes, Patrick knows he has to help her find the truth. Together, they discover a secret far more sinister than anything they ever imagined. Can Patrick decide between his family and his new love? Don´t Judge a Witch by Her Coven is a short paranormal romance novella in the Love in the Library series, a set of stand-alone adventures that sizzle and satisfy. If you like daring rescues, sexy spell work, and a love stronger than steel, then you´ll love AJ Tipton´s breathtaking story. Listen to Don´t Judge a Witch by Her Coven to fall in love today! 1. Language: English. Narrator: Audrey Lusk. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/111913/bk_acx0_111913_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Forbidden Library: The Forbidden Library, B...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Ink heart, and The Books of Elsewhere. Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That - along with everything else - changed the day she met her first fairy. When Alice´s father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon - an uncle she´s never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it´s hard to resist. Especially if you´re a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within. It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Cassandra Morris. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/lili/001814/bk_lili_001814_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
How to Partner with Your Library: And Sell More...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Libraries are a great resource for authors. In this easy-to-follow guide, authors will learn how to:Connect with the right library staff member to discuss adding your book to the collection.Teach a workshop for aspiring writers.Learn how to host a book signing with an ebook.Get paid to teach writing workshops and seminars.Position yourself as an expert and get speaking gigs! 1. Language: English. Narrator: Tanya Brown. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/108261/bk_acx0_108261_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books: Young Colum...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Without libraries, what have we? We have no past and no future. This book tells for the first time in English the story of the first great universal library in the age of printing - and of the son of Christopher Columbus who created it. This is the scarcely believable - and wholly true - story of Christopher Columbus´ bastard son Hernando, who sought to equal and surpass his father´s achievements by creating a universal library. His father sailed across the ocean to explore the known boundaries of the world for the glory of God, Spain and himself. His son Hernando sought instead to harness the vast powers of the new printing presses to assemble the world’s knowledge in one place, his library in Seville. Hernando was one of the first and greatest visionaries of the print age, someone who saw how the scale of available information would entirely change the landscape of thought and society. His was an immensely eventual life. As a youth, he spent years travelling in the New World and spent one living with his father in a shipwreck off Jamaica. He created a dictionary and a geographical encyclopaedia of Spain, helped to create the first modern maps of the world, spent time in almost every major European capital and associated with many of the great people of his day, from Ferdinand and Isabel to Erasmus, Thomas More, and Dürer. He wrote the first biography of his father, almost single-handedly creating the legend of Columbus that held sway for many hundreds of years, and was highly influential in crafting how Europe saw the world his father reached in 1492. He also amassed the largest collection of printed images and of printed music of the age, started what was perhaps Europe´s first botanical garden, and created by far the greatest private library Europe had ever seen, dwarfing with its 15,000 books every other library of the day. Edward Wilson-Lee has written the first major modern biography of Hernando - and the first of any kind av 1. Language: English. Narrator: Richard Trinder. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/hcuk/003895/bk_hcuk_003895_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 26.08.2019
Zum Angebot